Research Development Team

Syracuse University coordinates proposal support and research development across multiple units on campus through the Syracuse University Research Development Team (SU RD Team). This includes representatives from the central Office of Research; seven of the eleven degree-granting schools and colleges; an interdisciplinary research center; and other centralized administrative units as liaison members. The SU RD Team maintains close working relationships to support research across campus.

If you have questions about support, you may contact the team members in your school or college, or in the Office of Research.

College-level or Central Office Research Development Members

Chetna ChianeseAssociate Director Proposal Support ServicesOffice of Researchcchianes@syr.edu
Christina Leigh DocteurDirector of Proposal Support ServicesOffice of Researchcdocteur@syr.edu
Amy DumasDirector, Research CenterFalk Collegeadumas@syr.edu
Jill FergusonDirector of Research DevelopmentMaxwell Schooljsfergus@syr.edu
Yoanna FerraraDirector of Research Graduate Programs and Corporate RelationsCollege of Engineeringylferrar@syr.edu
Meghan MacblaneDirector of Grant DevelopmentiSchoolmtmacbla@syr.edu
Kristen NorthropAssistant Director, Research and Creative ActivityNewhouse School of Public Communicationskmnorthr@syr.edu
Scott ShablakLead, Office of Professional Research and DevelopmentSchool of Educationsshablak@syr.edu
Jeremy SteinbacherDirector of OperationsBioInspired Institute jlsteinb@syr.edu
Melissa WhippsDirector of Research Development, SciencesCollege of Arts and Sciencesmjwhipps@syr.edu
Sarah WorkmanAssistant Director of Research Development, HumanitiesCollege of Arts and Sciences, and Office of Researchsrworkma@syr.edu

Liaison Members

Emily HartLead Librarian, Research Impacts TeamSyracuse University Librariesekhart@syr.edu
Nora HeaphyDirector, Foundation RelationsCorporate and Foundation Relationsnheaphy@syr.edu